top of page
Image by SJ Objio

Artistic Origins

Rebecca Ryan

Founder

I've always been interested in history, in particular women's history, and my work tries to highlight their lost story. I feel that women's stories have been silent but strong, so I like to use materials that are predominantly related to women.  I also like to use materials that have had a life, reusing and giving them another life. 

I have studied art at Perth Tafe and RMIT in Melbourne majoring in printmaking although I would say that I am more of a mixed media artist. My family history was a major inspiration, in that my mother's family, Brown, were on the first fleet to Western Australia and Peter Brown became the first Colonial Secretary. My father's family I don't know as much, they are Yamaji, Aboriginal peoples in the Murchison and Gascony regions of Western Australia. There is so much history in their stories and a lot of my work used to deal with the White Australia Policy in regard to the Indigenous population. 

I have also been interested in women's stories and I like to make drawings of female objects as they deserve recognition. Some of my previous work include large images of women's accessories. I think about my grandmother who had to leave her nursing career two weeks after graduating when she married my grandfather. My great-grandmother who had to look after her children whilst her husband had his PTSD from WWI, their silent and unrecognised life. 

I didn't do much art during the last nine year as I worked in mining as a FIFO admin, which was a great change from a broke artist, however in 2015 I had a year off when I was diagnosed with uterine cancer and had a year of treatment. I was very ill for most of it and during that time I started creating again, working with material that were in my bedroom. The work produced were a lot of repetitive and detailed work which helped me to get through my illness. I went back to work the next year happy to get on with my life but I'm now returning to this creative part of my life and working on something that I love to do. 

I live in Stirling in Perth, Western Australia with my two boys. 
 

bottom of page